Kerala Legislative Assembly

The Kerala Legislative Assembly (Niyamasabha ) is the law making body of Kerala.The Assembly is formed by 140 elected representatives and one nominated member from the Anglo-Indian community. Each elected member represents one of the 140 constituencies within the borders of Kerala and is referred to as Member of Legislative Assembly (MLA).

In 1956, the State of Kerala was formed on linguistic basis, merging Travancore, Cochin and Malabar regions. The first general election in the Kerala State was held in February–March, 1957. The first Kerala Legislative Assembly was formed on March 1, 1957. Elamkulam Manakkal Sankaran Namboothiripad, (EMS) was the first Chief Minister of Kerala.The Assembly had 127 members including a nominated member.

No comments: